The Southern California Academy of Sciences presents the Wheeler North Award for Scientific Excellence to recognize and encourage outstanding contributions, both to scientific knowledge regarding Southern California and to the region’s scientific community. The award, established to advance the Academy’s mission, was inaugurated in 2004. It is named in honor of the late Professor Wheeler J. North, pioneering marine biologist and environmental scientist, whose life’s work exemplified a passionate commitment to excellence in research and service. This is not an annual award, but one that is given occasionally as deemed appropriate by the Board of the Academy. To learn more about Professor Wheeler J. North please click here!

Past recipients:

2018    Ralph Appy
2016    Larry Allen
2014    Milton S. Love
2013    Alan Miller and Susanne Lawrenz-Miller
2011    Camm Swift
2007    Steven Murray
2004    Donald Reish


    The Daniel A. Guthrie Exceptional Service Award was established in 2010 by the SCAS Board.  The award will be presented, on an occasional basis, to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to SCAS.

    Past recipients:

    2018    Daniel J. Pondella II
    2017    Julianne Kalman Passarelli
    2016    Ralph Appy
    2014    Bob F. Phalen
    2013    Gloria Takahashi
    2010    Daniel Guthrie